Search scents →
Guide 2 of 4 · Making

How to Choose a Candle Wax

Paraffin, soy, coconut and beeswax — and why the published figures for a single named wax vary from one seller to the next.

Updated 28 August 2026 · 15 min read

Wax is the fuel. Everything else in a candle — the wick, the fragrance, the vessel — is chosen around what the wax does when it melts, how much oil it will hold, and how it behaves as it sets.

This guide gives you the practical path first, then explains why the published figures for a single named wax vary from one seller to the next. Not similar waxes. The same product, with different numbers.

Before you start. Everything here is a starting point, not a specification. Candle making involves molten wax and open flame, and wax behaviour depends on your room, your vessel and your fragrance. Where a wax manufacturer's guidance differs from anything on this page, follow theirs.

The short version

  1. Pick a family by what you're making. Container, pillar, votive, melt — these want different things, and within paraffin especially, the grade matters more than the material. Typical published ranges put base and pillar grades at 3–4% fragrance, container and tart blends at 6–10%.[1]
  2. Get the figures from the manufacturer, not the shop. Reseller listings for the same wax routinely disagree on melt point, maximum fragrance load and pour temperature. Find the manufacturer's technical data sheet or SDS.
  3. Note your room. Pour temperature is calibrated to an ambient the supplier usually doesn't state. A workshop at 15 °C (59 °F) and one at 30 °C (86 °F) are not running the same process.
  4. Set fragrance load below two ceilings. The wax's stated maximum, and your fragrance oil's stated maximum for candles. Use the lower.
  5. Test in your own space, and cure before you judge. Vegetable waxes keep hardening for weeks after pouring. A candle assessed at two days is not the candle you'll sell.

Why the numbers disagree

On the wick guide, we found charts that conflicted because each was built on a different base wax and fragrance load. Wax is worse. Here the product is fixed — one manufacturer, one formulation, one name — and the published figures still diverge.

Ceda Serica: one wax, five spec sheets

Calwax make a coconut and apricot blend sold as Ceda Serica. Across five resellers:

Melt point appears as 125 °F (52 °C),[2] as 120–135 °F (49–57 °C),[3] and as 125–135 °F (52–57 °C).[4] Maximum fragrance load appears as 10%,[4] as 8–12%,[2] and as 8–10%.[3][5] Pour temperature is given as "try not to allow the wax to cool below 160 °F" (71 °C)[4] at one shop and as "mixing and pouring temperature 180–210 °F" (82–99 °C)[3] at another — a fifty-degree gap, with the upper end above the flash point of many fragrance oils.

Calwax's own safety data sheet gives neither figure. It states a congealing point of 123–135 °F (51–57 °C) by ASTM D938.[6] That's a different measurement, which we'll come back to.

Golden Brands 464: the load spread

464 is the most widely used soy container wax in the craft market. Melt point is reported consistently — 115–120 °F (46–49 °C) at Lone Star,[7] 113–119 °F (45–48 °C) at Scentivore.[8] Maximum fragrance load is not: 7–9%,[7] 8–10%,[9] and 10%.[8][10]

Pour temperature holds up better. Voyageur cite the manufacturer's recommendation as 125–145 °F (52–63 °C);[11] CandleScience and Scentivore both say 135 °F (57 °C),[8][10] which is the midpoint of that range. Convergent rather than contradictory — which shows the disagreements aren't inevitable.

IGI 4630: forty degrees on the pour

Melt point is agreed at 119–120 °F (48–49 °C).[12][13] Pour temperature is not. One shop gives a pouring range of 140–165 °F (60–74 °C);[13] another says pour at 180–190 °F (82–88 °C), then in the following line 160–190 °F (71–88 °C).[12] Lone Star's general guidance puts container single-pour blends at 150–160 °F (66–71 °C).[1]

And the one that settles it

Cargill make NatureWax C-3. On their own site, Cargill instruct you to heat the flakes to 160 °F (71 °C), and call it "the optimal pouring temperature to ensure beautiful, even candles."[14]

NatureWax C-3: the manufacturer against its resellers.

The Flaming Candle say pour at approximately 130 °F (54 °C).[15] The Candlemakers Store give a pouring range of 110–135 °F (43–57 °C).[16] The manufacturer's figure sits thirty degrees above one reseller's recommendation and entirely outside the other's stated range.

The same split appears on fragrance load. Cargill recommend 6–9%.[14] Two resellers publish maximums of 10%.[15][16] Lone Star's own guidance is that you can load up to the manufacturer's maximum but never past it[1] — and here, resellers are publishing a maximum higher than the manufacturer's.

Reseller product pages accessed 26 August 2026.

These gaps aren't random. Some are vocabulary. Some come from names that track processing rather than composition. Some are conditions the listing never states — including the room the guidance assumes and the room you're pouring in.

Melt point, congealing point, and "melting range" are three different things

Some of this divergence isn't disagreement. It's vocabulary.

Melt point is where solid wax becomes liquid. Congealing point is where liquid wax becomes solid — measured by ASTM D938, and the figure Calwax actually publish for Ceda Serica.[6] For a mixture, those aren't the same number, because the material passes through a range rather than a point.

Resellers quoting "melt point 125 °F" for Ceda Serica appear to be republishing the congealing figure under the wrong heading.

⚠️ And there is more than one standard method, which is why two honest figures can differ. ASTM publishes D938 for congealing point, D127 for drop melting point and D87 for melting point by cooling curve — and ASTM's own description of D938 says it is an alternative to D127 whose results are usually lower, by an amount that varies with the wax.[58] So "melt point" can be three different measurements before anyone has made a mistake. Flash point has the same problem: Calwax quote ASTM D-92, the Cleveland open cup, while D93 is the Pensky-Martens closed cup — and closed-cup figures typically read lower than open-cup ones for the same material.[58]

⚠️ Note also that all of these are petroleum wax methods. When a soy or coconut supplier quotes one, they are applying a petroleum-wax procedure to a vegetable wax — which may be perfectly reasonable and is rarely stated.

"Melting range" is a third thing again, and one seller uses it consistently to mean something else entirely. Across Ceda Serica, IGI 4630 and NatureWax C-3 and C-6, The Candlemakers Store publish a melt point, then a higher "melting range," then a lower "pouring range."[2][13][16][17] A melting range beginning above the melt point is incoherent thermodynamically — so what they mean is the temperature you heat the wax to. That's internally consistent and completely incomparable with anyone else's use of the term.

The practical consequence: a figure labelled "melting range" tells you nothing until you know which sense the seller intends.

Why "coconut apricot" isn't one thing

Three waxes sold under that name have three different compositions.

CandleScience's is apricot, coconut and soy, plus paraffin, plus a UV additive, formulated in their own lab.[18] Makesy's Coco Apricot Crème is apricot, coconut, soy and "a minuscule amount of highly refined food-grade paraffin."[19] Calwax's Ceda Serica is described as coconut and apricot waxes with a small quantity of food-grade paraffin — no soy mentioned.[4]

All three contain paraffin. None states the proportion. Calwax's SDS declares the material a complex substance with no hazardous components requiring disclosure[6] — a regulatory exemption rather than concealment, but the effect is the same: the percentage isn't published.

There's a structural reason names behave this way. Paramelt, discussing how their waxes are designated in the European Commission's cosmetic ingredient database, note that wax naming is "frequently more highly dependent on the processing of materials than the composition itself."[20] Names track process, not substance — which is why two waxes can share a name and differ, or differ in name while being close cousins.

Your room is part of the recipe

The clearest evidence that pour temperature depends on ambient conditions comes from comparing hemispheres.

Pure Candle Supplies, an Australian wholesaler, give these instructions for their coconut soy blend: melt at 70 °C (158 °F), add fragrance at 50–52 °C (122–126 °F), pour at 45–48 °C (113–118 °F). They add that the wax "works best when poured at low temperature" and gives its best finish that way.[21]

CandleScience tell you to pour their coconut apricot at 170 °F (77 °C).[18] Windy Point say not to let Ceda Serica fall below 160 °F (71 °C).[4]

These aren't the same product — different blends from different makers — but the pattern holds: in these examples, the Australian pour sits roughly 45 °F below the American floor. Neither is an error. A candle setting in a 28 °C room loses heat far more slowly than one setting in a 20 °C room, and the whole point of pour temperature is to control how the wax passes through the range where it crystallises. ⚠️ The variable is thermal environment, not geography — an air-conditioned workshop in Brisbane and an unheated one in Ohio can swap places. The nationalities are a proxy for typical ambient conditions, and a poor one for any individual room.

Australian suppliers are explicit about this in a way American ones aren't. Wickii recommend their CocoSoy for "improved glass adhesion and smooth tops, particularly helpful in warmer Australian climates," and say they stock waxes "suited to different styles, climates and creative goals."[22]

The practical consequence: a published pour temperature assumes an ambient the seller usually doesn't state. CandleScience are a notable exception — their Lab Notes give the ambient room temperature their tests were run at.[23]

And one wax manufacturer publishes the relationship as a table. Cargill's handling sheet for NatureWax C-3 and C-6 keys pour temperature directly to room temperature — see the ambient table below. It is the strongest evidence on this page that the room is a process variable rather than a footnote, because it is the manufacturer saying so rather than us inferring it from disagreement.

You don't need to be in another hemisphere for this to bite. A Colorado workshop in January and a Florida workshop in August are further apart than Sydney and North Carolina.

Altitude: the variable nobody has studied

There's a second geographic variable, and the honest answer is that we couldn't find anyone who has measured it for candles.

Air is thinner at altitude, which changes convective heat transfer and the oxygen available to a flame. Every combustion measurement we've cited assumes sea-level pressure — the Combustion and Flame study recorded its conditions as 100.7–101.9 kPa.[24] Denver sits around 84 kPa.

Whether that materially changes burn rate, melt pool formation or cooling behaviour is not something we can answer from the published literature. We're flagging it because it's the kind of unstated variable that could explain "this wax behaves differently for me" reports that otherwise have no cause — not because we can show it matters.

If you're making candles at altitude and your results don't match published guidance, that's worth knowing as a possibility rather than a conclusion.

The wax families

Four families cover almost everything, plus a fifth that most makers have never heard of.

Paraffin is refined from petroleum. It's the most forgiving wax on temperature, with a broad pour window and a glossy finish across most of the range.[25] But paraffin is not one material — grade determines almost everything about it, and a base grade and a container blend behave nothing alike.

Soy is typically based on hydrogenated soybean oil, often with additives or other waxes blended in — commercial soy waxes are formulated mixtures rather than a single material. Introduced for candles during the 1990s.[26] Michael Richards is often credited as its inventor, with Cargill's NatureWax C-1 as the original patent.[27] It's the dominant craft wax, and softer than the alternatives — soft enough that CandleScience warn 464 may be too soft to ship in summer heat.[10]

Coconut is rarely used alone — it's too soft to hold shape at room temperature, so it's blended, typically with soy for structure and sometimes with a small proportion of paraffin for throw.[4][18][19]

⚠️ "Coconut apricot" describes a marketing category, not a composition. Some blends contain paraffin. Others are explicitly paraffin-free — Wholesale Supplies Plus state of their coconut, apricot and soy blend that "there is no paraffin wax in this blend,"[53] and Candles and Supplies market theirs as "plant-based (NO PARAFFIN AT ALL)" with a 112–120 °F melt point.[54] The name does not tell you which. Only the ingredient declaration does — and as below, not always even then.

Beeswax is the temperature outlier. Relative to soft container soy and coconut blends, it's the one wax you pour hot: it has a narrow liquid window between melt and set, so jars need pre-warming to 50–60 °C (122–140 °F) or the wax skins on contact and gives a corrugated wet-spot pattern that's nearly impossible to fix.[25] Raw beeswax also holds propolis and pollen that scorch above 75 °C (167 °F).[25] CandleScience decline to give firm wick recommendations for it at all, saying that when, where and how the wax was obtained all affect how it performs.[28]

And a fifth: Fischer-Tropsch. Synthetic wax, made deliberately rather than recovered as a by-product. Chemically it's straight-chain saturated alkanes with high crystallinity and a notably narrow melting range, which is why it's sold on consistency and low shrink. A 2013 paper in the International Journal of Cosmetic Science notes the absence of aromatic and polycyclic aromatic compounds in Fischer-Tropsch wax[29] — the compounds most often raised as a concern with paraffin. It's uncommon in US hobby supply and more established in South Africa, the UK and Ireland.

Paraffin is a by-product. Fischer-Tropsch isn't.

The usual framing is natural plant wax against petroleum wax. That misses something.

Petroleum wax is a by-product. A Group I refinery exists to make automotive base oils; the oil fractions are de-waxed, the residue is slack wax, and de-oiling that gives refined paraffin.[30] The wax is what's left over.

Fischer-Tropsch refineries are built to make wax from the start.[30] The process was invented in Germany during the Second World War to produce fuel from carbon, adapted and perfected by Sasol in South Africa during apartheid when sanctions cut off oil imports, shifted to natural gas feedstock over the following thirty years, and more recently extended to other sources including methane captured from landfill.[30]

There's a supply consequence too. The 2013 paper notes that paraffin availability may be affected by the closure of Group I base oil plants[29] — and those refineries are being retired industry-wide as the lubricants market moves to Group II and III base stocks. Paraffin supply is tied to a declining refinery type, which is not something the candle trade seems to be discussing.

Reading a paraffin grade

Paraffin's quoted melt range of roughly 115–154 °F (46–68 °C) spans entirely different products.

Base and pillar grades are harder, hold around 3–4% fragrance, and pour warmer. Container and tart blends are built for 6–10% and pour cooler, commonly 150–160 °F (66–71 °C) for single-pour blends.[1]

"Single pour" means low shrink. IGI 4627, 4630 and 4636 are designed to pour once; 4633 usually pours once with occasional topping off; harder base grades need a second pour.[1] Low shrink also means better glass contact, which is the same relationship that gives low-melt-point soy its adhesion.

The naming is a maze. IGI 4630 is also Harmony Blend and Parafflex. 6046 was previously 6570.[31] Anyone following a tutorial more than a few years old may be hunting a product code that no longer exists.

"Coconut apricot" compared
Three products, one category name. Reseller and manufacturer pages accessed 26 August 2026.
CandleScience Makesy Coco Apricot Crème Ceda Serica (Calwax)
Stated composition Apricot, coconut, soy, paraffin, UV additive[18] Apricot, coconut, soy, "minuscule" food-grade paraffin[19] Coconut, apricot, "tiny bit" food-grade paraffin[4]
Paraffin % Not stated Not stated Not stated
Form Slabs — Slabs
Claimed cure 1–2 days[18] — 14 days[5]

Three products, one category name, and a cure-time claim differing by an order of magnitude.

A fourth case shows how far the category name can stretch inside one brand. Stone Candles' finished COCO candles declare their ingredients as "natural coconut apricot wax, soy wax, stearic acid, apricot oil and fragrance oil" — no paraffin. The coconut apricot wax they sell by the slab declares "a small amount of highly refined, food-grade paraffin wax", and justifies it in the copy rather than hiding it, linking to a separate paraffin-free wax. Both declarations are accurate for what they describe. The point is that a buyer reading "coconut apricot" on either one learns nothing about which they are holding.[55]

⚠️ That may well be a retail data-entry error rather than a formulation difference, and we are not claiming the brand puts paraffin in a product sold as paraffin-free. The finding is narrower and still useful: both listings are live, both carry the same marketing paragraph, and a shopper has no way to tell which declaration is accurate. Whichever explanation is right, the ingredient statement is not doing the job it exists to do.

And one passage connects this back to the emissions argument below. It is not one brand's argument — it is a shared supplier template, appearing near-verbatim across at least three sellers of coconut, apricot and hemp blends containing food-grade paraffin: "Scientific studies have proven paraffin wax to burn just as cleanly as soy, beeswax, or palm. And the highly refined food-grade nature of our paraffin puts it in the natural category." All of them point the reader at the same National Candle Association study.[56] That is emissions research being used — correctly as far as it goes — to argue that a petroleum fraction counts as natural. It shows how quickly no measurable difference in emissions becomes therefore this is a natural product, and why "natural" on a wax label carries so little information. That the wording is boilerplate rather than three independent judgements is the sharper half of the point.

Makesy address the paraffin question directly, arguing that highly refined food-grade paraffin "puts it in the natural category" and citing a National Candle Association study.[19] That's a marketing position rather than a regulatory classification — there is no standard defining what may be called natural. Several Ceda Serica listings describe it as "made from renewable sources"[3] while it contains a petroleum fraction.

Calwax's own SDS refers repeatedly to the "hydrocarbon component" when discussing mobility, biodegradation and bioaccumulation.[6] The petroleum content is acknowledged in the regulatory filing and absent from the marketing.

What's actually happening in the jar

Soy and coconut waxes are hydrogenated triacylglycerols — the same class of material as chocolate and margarine. That matters, because it means their setting behaviour is governed by one of the best-studied problems in food science.

Three crystal forms, appearing in the wrong order

Triacylglycerols crystallise in three polymorphic forms: α, β′ and β. Stability, melting point and density all increase in that order, with β the most stable and highest-melting.[32]

But they don't form in that order. From a melt, the sequence runs α → β′ → β — the reverse of their stability. The least stable form appears first in a supercooled material.[32]

So in triacylglycerol systems crystallisation can proceed through less-stable forms before shifting toward more stable ones — α first, the softest and lowest-melting, converting over days and weeks toward β′ and β, which are harder and higher-melting. ⚠️ Commercial waxes are formulated mixtures, so the actual path depends on composition rather than following one fixed sequence. What you end up with is a mixture of forms, and which dominate is partly what a wax is formulated to control.

That is why vegetable wax keeps hardening after it looks finished. Armatage Candle Company describe it observationally — a soy candle poured on Monday is harder the following Sunday than it was on Tuesday, and most of the change happens in the first fourteen days but continues for weeks to months.[33] The polymorphic transition is the mechanism underneath.

This is why an under-cured burn test gives you the wrong wick. Test at two days and the wax is still largely in its soft α form. It melts readily, the pool looks deep, and you conclude you're over-wicked. A week later the same candle is harder and needs more heat. Size down on the early test and you'll have a tunnelling candle once the wax reaches its final state. See How to Choose a Candle Wick for what a correctly sized wick looks like.

Frosting and fat bloom share a mechanism

Frosting is best described as a crystallisation phenomenon related to the same polymorphism that produces fat bloom in other lipid systems — not as literally the same defect under another name. The analogy is useful because the mechanism carries over; it is not an identity.

β crystals are described as stable, compact and coarse, producing a granular texture.[34] α crystals are highly soluble and dissolve and recrystallise with temperature changes, growing larger crystals in the process.[32]

That accounts for what makers observe: frosting appears over time rather than immediately, and temperature swings make it worse.

It also explains the vocabulary. AAK call it "bloom/frost."[35] Cargill's resellers call it "fat bloom."[16] Makers call it frosting. All three describe the same phenomenon, and the term comes from food because the companies making vegetable wax are food companies using the same processes.

Chocolatiers solve this deliberately. Tempering means cycling temperature repeatedly to convert residual α before it can misbehave; without it, chocolate shows undesirable crystallisation.[36] Candle making rarely includes a tempering cycle; pour and cool replace it.

One consequence worth knowing: once the transformation has happened, the lower forms can only be recovered by completely remelting.[32] A frosted surface can be remelted with a heat gun. A frosted candle cannot be un-frosted.

The crystal network is why fragrance load has a ceiling

β′ crystals are the smallest — under 1 µm — and needle-like.[37] They interlock. Above a critical volume fraction they build a network extending through the whole volume, creating a solid with viscoelastic properties, and the ability of that network to entrap liquid oil depends on both the solid fat content and the crystal shape.[37]

So a wax's maximum fragrance load is partly governed by the carrying capacity of that solid network, along with the chemistry of the fragrance itself. Below the ceiling the oil is held; above it there is nowhere for the excess to go. ⚠️ It is not a single-cause outcome — addition temperature, the oil's own composition and polarity, and the wax's formulation all feed into where the ceiling falls, which is why two oils at the same percentage in the same wax can behave differently.

That's the mechanism behind what suppliers describe as symptoms. Lone Star note that the wax retains only so much fragrance oil and the excess separates instead of adding throw.[1] Fillmore Container call it syneresis or fragrance bleed — liquid accumulating on the top or bottom of the candle after cooling — and attribute it to excessive fragrance oil, or oil added at too low a temperature to bind.[38]

It also explains why β′ is the form formulators want. Small interlocking crystals give the network that holds oil. Coarse β crystals don't.

Cooling rate selects the form

Which polymorph you get depends on how fast the wax cools.[32] Fast cooling favours α, which means more subsequent transformation and more frosting.

That single fact unifies advice you'll find everywhere without explanation:

Every one of those slows the cooling rate through the crystallisation range.

It also resolves the apparent disagreement from earlier. Pouring cool into a warm room and pouring hot into a cooler one are both attempts to control the same cooling profile from different starting conditions — which is exactly what Cargill's ambient table prescribes, and why the split tracks thermal environment rather than hemisphere.

A mechanism the physics suggests but the sources don't confirm

β is denser than α.[32] A denser solid occupies less volume. So the α→β transformation should reduce volume, which would make wet spots and pull-away a consequence of polymorphic change rather than simply of pouring temperature.

Each link in that chain is sourced. Nothing we found states the chain.

It's consistent with what suppliers report — lower melt point waxes shrink less and adhere better,[39] and CandleScience found that adding fragrance softens the wax, minimises shrinking, and improves adhesion.[23] But consistency isn't confirmation, and we're flagging this as a plausible mechanism rather than an established one.

Fragrance load and temperature

Two questions, both with more disagreement than you'd expect: how much fragrance the wax will hold, and how hot it should be when you add it.

The load ceiling is the lower of two numbers

Every wax has a stated maximum. Every fragrance oil has a stated maximum for candles. Use whichever is lower — Lone Star put it plainly on their product pages: the fragrance load is the maximum the wax holds, and your oil's own IFRA ceiling may be lower.[7]

One misconception worth clearing up: IFRA's categories aren't a fragrance-load limit for candles. The twelve categories are ordered by skin contact, and candles sit in Category 12. IFRA's own guidance defines Category 12 as products not intended for direct skin contact, with minimal or insignificant transfer, and states that because skin exposure is negligible, "the concentration of fragrance ingredient is not restricted in the finished product."[40]

But restrictions are set per material, and some still bind in Category 12 through systemic toxicity rather than skin sensitisation. The number that governs your oil is on its Certificate of Conformity.[40] Check that, check the wax maximum, and use the lower.

You'll also find published maximums that exceed the manufacturer's own. Cargill recommend 6–9% for NatureWax C-3;[14] two resellers publish 10%.[15][16] Lone Star's guidance is that you can load up to the maximum but never past it[1] — which requires knowing whose maximum you're reading.

Exceeding it has a specific failure mode

The excess doesn't disperse. It separates — beading into droplets on the surface or pooling at the bottom.[38] Where excess oil collects as free liquid, fire-safety risk rises.

Downstream symptoms include sooting, an oversized or erratic flame, wax pulling down around the wick, wet spots, poor glass adhesion and shortened burn time.[38]

Fillmore Container add a nuance worth keeping: bleed can also come from fragrance added at too low a temperature to bind, not only from too much of it.[38] Same symptom, different cause.

And one belief worth retiring: more fragrance does not mean more throw. Past the wax's capacity it inverts.[41]

When to add it: everyone heats to the same temperature, then parts company

Published addition temperatures. Reseller and manufacturer pages accessed 26 August 2026.
Source Heat to Add fragrance at
CandleScience (464, 444, paraffin) 185 °F (85 °C) 185 °F — at the peak, then remove from heat[10]
Fillmore Container — 185 °F (85 °C) for plant-based wax, to prevent syneresis[38]
The Flaming Candle, general guide full melt 165–185 °F (74–85 °C), "cooled slightly… not straight off full melt"[51]
The Flaming Candle, NatureWax C-3 page 185 °F (85 °C) 160–165 °F (71–74 °C), just before pouring, "to preserve scent integrity"[15]
The Candlemakers Store — 5–10 °F (3–6 °C) above your intended pour temperature[13]
Pure Candle Supplies (AU) 70 °C (158 °F) 50–52 °C (122–126 °F)[21]

The interesting thing is what they agree on. Nearly everyone heats to 185 °F. The disagreement is whether fragrance goes in at the peak or after cooling — and that's a process difference, not a rounding gap.

CandleScience describe 185 °F as a "Goldilocks Zone": hot enough for the fragrance to fully bind with the wax, cool enough that no fragrance is lost.[10] Fillmore give the same temperature specifically to prevent bleed. The Flaming Candle's product-page reasoning runs the other way — add late, to preserve the scent.

So one camp optimises against a binding failure and the other against volatilisation. Neither is careless; they're protecting against different things.

And one supplier disagrees with itself. The Flaming Candle's general guide says 165–185 °F; their NatureWax C-3 product page says 160–165 °F. Those ranges share exactly one point. The product page is the more specific document and the one to follow for that wax — but you'd have to notice the discrepancy to know there was a question. "The Flaming Candle says X" isn't a citable position; the page is.

The Australian figure sits 60 °F below the American consensus, and the ambient explanation from earlier covers part of that — but not the peak-versus-cooled split, which is a genuine disagreement about what goes wrong first.

One ceiling worth knowing: The Flaming Candle caution that heating wax above 200 °F (93 °C) may cause discolouration.[15] Cargill's own handling sheet gives the same limit for NatureWax C-3 and C-6 — melt at 160–200 °F (71–93 °C), and "do not heat the wax above 200 °F," because wax held above it for long periods will discolour.[52]

The manufacturer publishes a room-temperature table

Everything above infers from supplier disagreement that the room is part of the recipe. One manufacturer states it outright. Cargill's handling sheet for NatureWax C-3 and C-6 says pour temperature "should be matched to ambient room temperature recommendations in the table below," and then gives the table:[52][14]

Cargill NatureWax C-3 and C-6 handling sheet, reproduced as published.
Ambient room temperature Wax pour temperature
60 to 70 °F (15.6 to 21.1 °C) 170 to 180 °F (76.7 to 82.2 °C)
70 to 80 °F (21.1 to 26.7 °C) 160 to 170 °F (71.1 to 76.7 °C)
80 to 90 °F (26.7 to 32.2 °C) 145 to 155 °F (62.8 to 68.3 °C)

Note which way it runs. A warmer room takes a cooler pour, not a hotter one — because the room governs how fast the candle sheds heat, and a slow-cooling candle poured hot is the one that cracks and discolours. Across a 30 °F swing in room temperature the recommended pour moves by 25–35 °F.

This is the single best answer to "why do two suppliers give different pour temperatures for the same wax." Some of that spread is not disagreement at all — it is the same instruction, written for different rooms. It also means a pour temperature quoted with no ambient condition attached is an incomplete instruction, however precise the number looks.

⚠️ The sheet is not internally consistent, which is worth seeing rather than smoothing over. Step Four says to cool the wax to 120–165 °F before pouring; Step Five says to pour at 120–180 °F; the table's top row says 170–180 °F. A pour at 175 °F satisfies the table and Step Five and violates Step Four. This is the page's whole argument appearing inside a single manufacturer document — and it is a reason to treat the table as the specific instruction and the step ranges as the envelope.

What flash point actually is, and what it isn't

Flash point is the lowest temperature at which a liquid gives off enough vapour to ignite in the presence of a spark or open flame. Calwax measure Ceda Serica's at 415 °F (213 °C) minimum by ASTM D-92 open cup.[6]

Its main practical relevance is shipping. Low flash points trigger transport restrictions and labelling requirements, particularly for air freight.

It is not a scent-preservation threshold. Fragrance doesn't "burn off" at flash point. The real reason not to overheat is different: prolonged high temperature degrades lower-boiling aroma molecules, which shifts the balance of a fragrance and hits delicate top notes hardest.

So the common advice to stay below flash point is often right for the wrong reason. Where it matters directly is safety and shipping; where overheating actually costs you is top-note loss.

As a working heuristic, Waxverse suggest never adding fragrance to wax hotter than the oil's flash point minus 5 °C.[25] Treat that as a rule of thumb and still follow your fragrance supplier's own instructions.

One case is simply impossible. Low-flash-point citrus essential oils, typically flashing at 45–55 °C (113–131 °F), cannot be added at any normal pour temperature. Waxverse are blunt about the consequence: the oil goes in below 45 °C, will barely bind, and will throw quietly.[25] If you want citrus, either find a higher-flash-point variant or accept the limitation.

Load and content are different numbers

Fragrance load is fragrance as a percentage of wax weight. 8% load means 8 g of oil per 100 g of wax.

Fragrance content is the proportion of the finished candle. The same 8 g in 108 g of total material is 7.4%.

US suppliers generally teach load. European practice, and CLP compliance calculations, work in total content. The same candle produces two different numbers, and they're often used interchangeably when they shouldn't be.

If you're following a recipe from another region, check which is meant before scaling.

Labels and claims

This section is about reading claims, not legal advice for labelling your own products.

Bourbon has a legal definition. Under federal labelling rules for distilled spirits, Title 27 of the Code of Federal Regulations specifies 51% corn, new charred oak containers, distillation below 160 proof.

Candle wax has no equivalent.

There is no US standard of identity for wax

The regulations that touch candles concern fire safety and warning labels — ASTM F2417 for fire safety performance,[42] ASTM F2058 for labelling, and the CPSC ban at 16 CFR 1500.17(a)(13), effective 15 October 2003, on metal-cored candlewicks containing more than 0.06% lead by weight in the metal, and candles containing them.[43] Note the shape of that rule: it's a lead threshold, not a prohibition on metal cores — zinc-core wicks remain legal.

There is no federal US standard of identity defining what a wax sold as soy, coconut or natural must contain.

To be clear about what that does and doesn't mean: general law still applies. The FTC prohibits deceptive advertising, safety data sheets are required, and IFRA standards govern fragrance materials for members. What's absent is a composition standard — a rule saying that "soy wax" must be a stated percentage of soy.

Which explains everything documented earlier in this guide. Golden Brands 464 is sold as all-natural soy while containing proprietary soy-based additives that let it pour hotter and hold more fragrance.[10] Ceda Serica is described by resellers as "made from renewable sources"[3] while its own safety data sheet refers to a hydrocarbon component.[6] Three waxes share the name coconut apricot with three different compositions.

A wax name is not a formulation — and there are three different kinds of name in play. "Golden Wax 464" is a trade name for one specific commercial formulation. "Coconut apricot" is a marketing category covering products that differ in composition. "Soy wax" is a material class. Before comparing two numbers, establish which kind of thing each name refers to — a melt point for a trade name is a property of a product, and a melt point for a category is a property of nothing in particular.

One arithmetic point that follows, because it changes what a number means. Fragrance load and fragrance content are not the same figure. Ten grams of fragrance in 100 grams of wax is a 10% load — but it is 10 ÷ 110 = 9.09% of the finished candle's mass. Suppliers quote load; IFRA limits are expressed as a fraction of the finished product. The gap is small at 6% and grows with the load, and it is the kind of difference that decides whether a formula sits inside a limit or outside it.

The practical response: if you want to know what's in a wax, read the manufacturer's documents — but know what each one is for. The technical data sheet says how the manufacturer expects the wax to perform. The SDS is a hazard-communication document, written to tell you how to handle the material safely and what to do if it goes wrong. Neither gives the full formulation, and the SDS in particular is not an ingredient list — it discloses what regulation requires it to disclose, which for an unhazardous wax can be almost nothing. The product page is written to sell it.

Free-from claims, and what's actually in question

Wax listings carry a lot of absences. Gluten-free, paraben-free, sulfate-free, toxin-free, phthalate-free, non-GMO, vegan, cruelty-free, biodegradable, non-toxic.

Some of those describe things that were never candidates. Gluten-free wax is true of every wax ever made — wax contains no wheat, and the claim is borrowed from food marketing. Paraben-free and sulfate-free are similar: parabens are cosmetic preservatives, sulfates are detergents. Neither belongs in wax to begin with.

That's worth naming plainly, and it generalises: a "free-from" claim is informative only when the excluded substance was a plausible ingredient. Otherwise it tells you nothing about what is in the product. Paraffin-free on a wax is a real claim, because paraffin is a plausible ingredient and often present. Gluten-free is not.

Non-toxic and toxin-free have no definition at all, and no certifying body. They aren't verifiable claims in either direction.

Two are meaningful:

Vegan matters, because beeswax isn't. It's why AAK describe their waxes as "completely free of animal-derived substances" rather than simply asserting the word.[35]

Non-GMO is the one that carries real information and gets the least attention. USDA reported 96% of US soybean acreage planted with genetically engineered herbicide-tolerant seed in 2024 and again in 2025.[44] Non-GMO runs about 4% of total acreage, and the food-grade portion — roughly 2% in 2025 — is largely contracted, commands a premium of around $2.53 per bushel, and goes mainly to tofu, soy milk and miso, with Japan the largest importer.[45]

So a soy wax should not be assumed non-GMO unless the manufacturer makes and substantiates the claim — certification is one route to that, but not the only one, and the base rates above are why the assumption runs the way it does. AAK's brochure lists "Sustainable and Non GMO options available"[35] — which tells you the standard product is neither.

Whether that matters to you is a separate question. But it's a fact with a primary source, and almost nobody states it.

The emissions argument, and who funded which side

The claim that paraffin releases toluene and benzene when burned traces largely to a 2009 study at South Carolina State University.

Three things about it are rarely mentioned by the articles that cite it: it was presented at a conference rather than published in a peer-reviewed journal, it compared only paraffin against soy with no other waxes, and it was funded by a USDA soy research grant.[46] The National Candle Association called its conclusions unsubstantiated.[46]

The grant is identifiable, and its title is worth stating: USDA NIFA project accession 0206030, "Soybean Candles for Healthy Life and Well Being," South Carolina State University, with R. Massoudi as principal investigator.[57] A project named for the conclusion is not disqualifying, but it is the kind of thing a reader should be told before weighing the result.

⚠️ We could not open the project record itself. The NIFA portal page returns 404, so the accession number, title, institution and investigator come from the project index rather than from the record, and any quotation of its summary would be quoting something we have not read. We are not reproducing one.[57]

We should flag a dispute we couldn't settle. At least one source states that the study was peer-reviewed and published in Chemosphere.[47] Those accounts may describe different studies. We haven't been able to confirm which is correct, and we'd rather say so than pick one. One piece of evidence leans the other way without settling it: the USDA project record for the work lists its outputs as conference papers — the 60th Southeastern Regional Meeting in November 2008 and the 15th Biennial Research Symposium in March 2009.[57] A journal paper could exist outside that record, so this is a lean, not a conclusion.

The counter-study is the 2007 Ökometric work, which tested paraffin, soy, stearin, palm and beeswax in controlled chambers across more than 300 compounds. Total VOC emissions for paraffin, soy, stearin and beeswax were comparable at 3.07 to 5.09 µg per gram of wax consumed, with palm somewhat higher at 10.70 µg/g and still far below any level of significance.[48]

Soot and VOCs are different questions, and they get collapsed constantly. Ökometric measured emissions. On soot, the NCA's position is that no wax is soot-free and that wick length and drafts matter more than wax type — a point echoed by makers, one of whom notes that an untrimmed wick on a soy candle will produce more soot than a well-maintained paraffin one.[47]

Conflicts of interest run both ways. The 2009 study was soy-funded. The NCA is a trade association whose board comprises people with commercial interests in candles and fragrance — which is what a trade association is, but it's still a funding position. Neither disqualifies the work. Both are worth knowing.

So funding does not separate them, and it is the wrong axis to judge them on. One was paid for by an agricultural promotion programme; the other by the trade bodies representing the manufacturers whose products it tested. Neither is disinterested and neither appeared in a peer-reviewed journal.

What does separate them is what each side released. Ökometric tested five wax types across more than 300 compounds and its methodology and figures are published and checkable. The 2009 work released no data at all — there is nothing to examine, replicate or dispute beyond a conference abstract and press coverage. That is a difference in kind rather than in degree, and it is a better reason to weight them differently than either side's funding is.

Our reading: emissions appear comparable across waxes, soot depends more on wick and burn conditions than on wax, and practitioners still consistently report paraffin sooting more in practice. That last observation is real even if the mechanism isn't settled.

Beeswax does not purify the air

The claim that beeswax candles release negative ions and purify the air appears widely, including from wax manufacturers — Kerax state that beeswax "is believed to purify the air by releasing negative ions."[49]

There's no evidence for it. The phrasing is telling: "is believed to" rather than "does."

Beeswax has real qualities. It burns slowly, produces little smoke, and carries a natural honey scent. None of that requires an air-purification claim, and repeating one that can't be supported undermines the ones that can.

Testing

Everything above is a starting point. This is where you find out what's true in your workshop.

Cure before you judge anything. This is the single most common way to test correctly and still get the wrong answer. Vegetable wax keeps hardening for weeks, so a candle assessed at two days behaves differently from the one you'll sell. Cure your test candles for the same length of time you'll cure production — and judge your wick on those, not on a fresh pour.

Published cure times vary widely, and some of that variation is real product difference: CandleScience claim one to two days for their coconut apricot,[18] two weeks for 464.[10] Ceda Serica resellers specify fourteen days.[5] Australian coconut soy guidance says cool 24 hours, cure 48 minimum[21] — though a label minimum isn't necessarily a full polymorphic settle.

Record your conditions. Room temperature, container temperature, pour temperature, fragrance load, cure time. Without them you can't tell which change produced which result — and you can't compare your results to anyone's published figures, because they're testing in a different room.

Change one thing at a time.[41] Wax, wick, fragrance, load and pour temperature all interact. Change two and you've learned nothing.

Watch for the failure modes with known causes. Wet spots and pull-away point to shrinkage and cooling rate. Frosting points to crystal transformation and temperature swings. Oil beading or pooling points to load exceeding the wax's capacity, or fragrance added too cool to bind. Sinkholes and craters are often a pour temperature problem — CandleScience suggest adjusting in 5 °F (3 °C) increments to find what works in your space.[50]

And expect the wax itself to vary. Moisture content differs between cases of the same wax, and you may see cloudiness before pouring.[38] Burn rate varies enough between production lots that AAK sell consistency as a product feature — one of their case studies describes a customer who no longer needed to change wicks based on the burn rate of each incoming lot.[35] If a batch behaves differently and nothing in your process changed, the wax is a candidate.

⚠️ And comparing two waxes by name compares nothing. Changing the wax changes the wick you need, so a straight swap tests the pair, not the wax — if wax B burns worse in a candle wicked for wax A, you have learned about that combination and nothing about wax B. Which wax is better and which wax-wick combination is better are different experiments, and only the second one is usually run. To compare waxes, re-optimise the wick for each and compare the optimised candles; see the wick guide's testing section for how to run that without changing two things at once.

What to take away

There is no single right wax, and the published numbers are less precise than they look. The same product carries different figures at different shops. Pour temperatures assume a room nobody names. Names track processing rather than composition, and no standard defines what any of them must contain.

That's not a reason to distrust the numbers. It's a reason to know whose they are, what conditions produced them, and where your own workshop differs.

Get the manufacturer's documents. Note your room. Cure properly. Change one variable at a time.

And when a wax behaves in a way the chart didn't predict — that's the normal case, not the exception.

Browse candles →

Written by Bryan Schmidt. Senior Reactor Operator at civilian nuclear plants, former US Navy submarine nuclear electrician’s mate (Chief Petty Officer), BS Computer Engineering. Not a chandler — the training is in heat transfer and thermodynamics, and these guides are the research he did for himself after starting a candle line and finding that the published advice contradicted itself. Where a manufacturer’s guidance differs from anything here, follow theirs. About the author → · How we source and verify →

Sources

  1. Lone Star Candle Supply, Choosing a Paraffin Wax. ↩
  2. The Candlemakers Store, Ceda Serica Coconut & Apricot Candle Blend Wax. Accessed 26 August 2026. ↩
  3. Dream Vessels, Ceda Serica Coconut Apricot Wax. Accessed 26 August 2026. ↩
  4. Windy Point Soap Making Supplies, Coconut Apricot Wax (Ceda Serica). Accessed 26 August 2026. ↩
  5. Porter Candle Supply, Coconut Apricot Luxury Wax. Accessed 26 August 2026. ↩
  6. Calwax LLC, Safety Data Sheet: Ceda Serica Coconut & Apricot Candle Blend (PDF): "Congealing Point: 123 oF – 135 oF [ASTM D938]". ⚠️ Corrected 2026-09-13 — this footnote previously gave the revision date as 3 June 2024. The document reachable today, hosted by a distributor, reads Revision Date: 10th June 2020. Extracted with pypdf rather than a summarising fetch, which has already returned a false negative on one brochure in this project. ↩
  7. Lone Star Candle Supply, Golden Brands 464 product page. Accessed 26 August 2026. ↩
  8. Scentivore, Golden Brands 464 Soy Candle Wax. Accessed 26 August 2026. ↩
  9. The Flaming Candle, Golden Wax GW 464 Soy Wax Flakes. Accessed 26 August 2026. ↩
  10. CandleScience, Golden Brands 464 Soy Wax. Accessed 26 August 2026. ↩
  11. Voyageur Soap & Candle, Golden Brands GW 464 Soy Container Candle Wax: “Manufacturers Recommended Pour Temperature: 125°F - 145°F”. Accessed 26 August 2026. ↩
  12. Candles & Supplies, IGI 4630A Harmony Container Wax. Accessed 26 August 2026. ↩
  13. The Candlemakers Store, IGI 4630 Parafflex (Harmony Blend) Wax. Accessed 26 August 2026. ↩
  14. Cargill, DIY Candles with NatureWax: “Heat your NatureWax soy flakes to 160 degrees Fahrenheit (71 degrees Celcius). This is the optimal pouring temperature to ensure beautiful, even candles.” (Cargill’s spelling of “Celcius”.) Confirmed in a browser 13 September 2026 — cargill.com returns 403 to automated requests, which is bot-blocking rather than a dead page. ⚠️ This page is a second, independent source for the ambient-temperature instruction below: its step 3 carries the same room-temperature guidance as the handling sheet, and adds a candle-diameter adjustment the sheet does not — pour a 4-inch candle at 155 °F and a 3-inch at 160 °F. ↩
  15. The Flaming Candle, NatureWax C-3 Soy Wax Flakes. Accessed 26 August 2026. ↩
  16. The Candlemakers Store, Cargill NatureWax C-3 Soy Wax. Accessed 26 August 2026. ↩
  17. The Candlemakers Store, Cargill NatureWax C-6 Coconut & Soy Blend Wax. Accessed 26 August 2026. ↩
  18. CandleScience, CandleScience Coconut Apricot Candle Wax. Accessed 26 August 2026. ↩
  19. Makesy, Coco Apricot Crème Wax. Accessed 26 August 2026. ↩
  20. Paramelt, Paracera cosmetics leaflet, EU edition — archived 2020 edition, 25 January 2022: “Cosing requires INCI names that most accurately reflect the material description, which for waxes is frequently more highly dependent on the processing of materials than the composition itself.” ⚠️ This passage is not in the current leaflet. Paramelt’s 2026 edition was downloaded and read on 2026-09-13 and contains no CosIng discussion at all, and the 2025-dated PDF that search engines still quote now returns 404. The archived 2020 edition is the citable version. ↩
  21. Pure Candle Supplies, Pure Blend Coconut Soy Candle Wax: melt at 70°C, add fragrance at 50–52°C, pour at 45–48°C; “Works best when poured at low temperature.” Accessed 26 August 2026. ↩
  22. Wickii, Candle Wax Australia: “Our CocoSoy Wax provides improved glass adhesion and smooth tops, particularly helpful in warmer Australian climates.” Accessed 26 August 2026. ↩
  23. CandleScience, Lab Notes: CandleScience Coconut Apricot Wax. ↩
  24. Furlong, A.J., Haelssig, J.B. & Pegg, M.J., "Impact of candle wicks and fuels on burning rate, flame shape, and melt pool diameter", Combustion and Flame 249 (2023) 112628. ↩
  25. Waxverse, Candle Pour Temperature Guide, updated 20 June 2026. ↩
  26. Elchemy, Paraffin Wax vs Other Candle Waxes. ↩
  27. Candle Supply (AU), NatureWax C1 product listing. Accessed 26 August 2026. ↩
  28. CandleScience, Wick Guide. ↩
  29. Bekker, M., "The benefits of Fischer-Tropsch waxes in synthetic petroleum jelly," International Journal of Cosmetic Science (2013). ↩
  30. Alafave, What are synthetic waxes and what are the differences with paraffin wax? ↩
  31. Blaizen Candles, A Complete Intro Lesson to Candle Wax Basics: “This wax was previously named IGI 6570.” ⚠️ This page does not give the Astorlite aliases (4633 as J-223, 4636 as J-50); that clause was removed on 2026-09-13 rather than left attributed to a source which does not carry it. ↩
  32. US Patent 4,391,838, Process for continuous fluidization of shortening. ↩
  33. Armatage Candle Company, Candle Curing for Beginners. ↩
  34. Chemical Composition and Crystallization Behavior of Oil and Fat Blends for Spreadable Fat Applications, PMC11507071. ↩
  35. AAK, Golden Wax: Plant-Based Wax Solutions brochure (PDF): “Offers significant bloom/frost reduction.” ↩
  36. US Patent 5,460,756, Method for entrapment of liquids in transformed waxes. ↩
  37. US Patent 7,776,346, Personal product compositions comprising structured benefit agent premix or delivery vehicle. ↩
  38. Fillmore Container, Soy Wax Troubleshooting Guide: “Also known as fragrance bleed, this is when liquid accumulates on the top surface or bottom of the candle after cooling/curing.” ↩
  39. California Candle Supply, Golden Brands 464 instruction sheet. Accessed 26 August 2026. ↩
  40. IFRA-RIFM, Guidance for the Use of IFRA Standards, 51st Amendment, 30 June 2023. Category 12 definition p28; candles rationale p53; Certificate of Conformity p59. ↩
  41. Sweet U Candles, Hot Throw, Explained. ↩
  42. ASTM International, F2417-26, Standard Specification for Fire Safety for Candles. ↩
  43. 16 CFR 1500.17(a)(13). ↩
  44. USDA Economic Research Service, Adoption of Genetically Engineered Crops in the United States. ↩
  45. US Soybean Export Council, Non-GMO Soybean Acreage Report, 2025. ⚠️ Separately, on the South Carolina State work described above: the USDA project record lists its funding source as Evans-Allen, NIFA capacity funding for 1890 land-grant institutions, rather than a soy-specific research grant. Sources describing it as "a USDA soy research grant" are loose on that detail. Checked 2026-09-13. ↩
  46. Sero Candles, Soy Wax vs Paraffin. ↩
  47. The Victorian Candle Co., Soy Wax vs Paraffin: What the Research Actually Says. ↩
  48. Ökometric (2007), summarised by the National Candle Association. ↩
  49. Kerax, Choosing the Right Wax for Candle Making. ↩
  50. CandleScience, Golden Brands 454 Coconut Soy Wax. Accessed 26 August 2026. ↩
  51. The Flaming Candle, New to Candle Making? Your Beginner Candle Making Guide. Accessed 26 August 2026. ↩
  52. Cargill, Handling Sheet: NatureWax™ C-3 and C-6 — melting and handling instructions for container candles, including the ambient-room-temperature pour table reproduced above. ⚠️ Retrieved 7 September 2026 from a distributor's hosted copy, because Cargill's own document URL returns HTTP 403 to automated requests. The PDF is Cargill's, unaltered; text extracted directly rather than summarised. ↩
  53. Wholesale Supplies Plus, Coconut Apricot Wax — a coconut, apricot and soy blend; "There is no paraffin wax in this blend." Accessed 7 September 2026. ↩
  54. Candles and Supplies, Coconut Apricot Container Candle Wax — "plant-based (NO PARAFFIN AT ALL)", apricot/soy/coconut, melt point 112–120 °F. Accessed 7 September 2026. ↩
  55. Stone Candles, Stone Fruit candle — "NATURAL COCONUT APRICOT WAX / SOY WAX / STEARIC ACID (VEGETABLE WAX) / APRICOT OIL / FRAGRANCE OIL" — and 11 oz coconut apricot wax slab — "A VEGAN BLEND OF NATURAL COCONUT, SOY, AND APRICOT, WITH A SMALL AMOUNT OF HIGHLY REFINED, FOOD-GRADE PARAFFIN WAX." Re-checked 13 September 2026. ⚠️ Corrected 2026-09-13. This footnote previously described the two listings as carrying "the same anti-paraffin marketing paragraph", and the sentence above quoted marketing copy about outperforming "standard soy blends, which often contain paraffin to enhance performance." Four Stone Candles pages were checked and neither holds: that quoted copy appears on none of them, and the paraffin-declaring listing carries a justification for the paraffin plus a link to a separate paraffin-free wax, not an argument against it. The two declarations differ because they describe different products — a finished candle and a raw wax — which is a weaker and more accurate point than the one this footnote used to make. ↩
  56. Hemp Luxury coconut soy blend wax, retail listing — openly contains food-grade paraffin, justified on the grounds that "studies have proven paraffin wax to burn just as cleanly as soy and beeswax." Accessed 7 September 2026. ↩
  57. USDA National Institute of Food and Agriculture, project accession 0206030, Soybean Candles for Healthy Life and Well Being, South Carolina State University; R. Massoudi, principal investigator. ✅ Recovered 2026-09-13. The live NIFA reporting-portal page still returns HTTP 404, but the record is archived: Internet Archive, 21 January 2017. It confirms the accession number, the title, South Carolina State University and "Project Director: Massoudi, R.", and gives two further details used above: the funding source is Evans-Allen, and the listed outputs are conference papers rather than a journal article. ↩
  58. ASTM International test methods, checked 7 September 2026: D938 (Congealing Point of Petroleum Waxes, Including Petrolatum), D127 (Drop Melting Point of Petroleum Wax, Including Petrolatum), D87 (Melting Point of Petroleum Wax, Cooling Curve) and D93 (Flash Point by Pensky-Martens Closed Cup Tester). ASTM's own description of D938 states it is an alternative to D127 whose results are usually lower, the deviation varying with the wax. All are petroleum-wax methods. ↩
Overview How to make a candle Previous in series How to choose a candle wick Next in series How to choose a fragrance oil
← Back to Making Guides