Search scents →
Making · Wax warmers

How to Choose a Wax Warmer

The four heating architectures, what the controls and certification marks actually tell you, and why rated wattage doesn't predict how hot the wax gets.

1 · What a warmer actually is

A candle designed to be burned contains its heat source. The maker selects the wick, wax and vessel that define its operating system, and the flame sits inside it.

A wax melt doesn't. Neither does a jar candle on a warmer. The maker selects the formulation; someone else selects the appliance that heats it, usually after the product is sold.

A warmer is not a holder. It is the heat source that shapes the temperature history of the wax.

"Shapes," not "decides." Wax mass, dish geometry, ambient temperature and airflow all participate. But the heat source is one of the dominant variables, and for a melt sold commercially it's chosen after the formulation is fixed.

Which means hot throw isn't a property of a fragrance oil. As a user experiences it, throw emerges from the fragrance, the wax, the reservoir, the warmer and the room together. A customer reporting weak throw might be describing your formulation or their appliance, and the report won't distinguish them.

2 · Four common heating architectures

These are four common heating architectures. Others combine or vary them.

Heat source Position Dominant heat path Typical load
Tealight flame below dish radiation and convection → dish → conduction melts
Bottom electric resistive or PTC element under dish or vessel conduction melts or jars
Bulb below incandescent or halogen bulb below dish radiation and convection → dish melts
Lamp above radiant source above vessel radiation → exposed surface jar candles

"Dominant" is doing work. No real appliance uses one transfer mode. The column names the one carrying most of the energy, not the only one present.

Why the direction changes the problem

Bottom heating puts the energy underneath. Heat enters through the dish or vessel base and continues into the bulk over time, with convection redistributing it once liquid forms. Given enough power and time, a jar on a plate can develop a much larger liquid region — how large depends on the vessel, the wax, the load and the room.

Top-down heating preferentially heats the exposed surface. Because solid wax conducts heat relatively poorly,[1] a shallow molten region can form while much of the wax below stays solid. Once liquid exists, convection redistributes heat within it.

The consequence is the size of the active liquid volume, not a difference in how molecules behave. A bottom-heated jar can expose a larger fraction of the formulation to the warm liquid phase at once.

Manufacturers market top-down warming as extending candle life, and more wax does remain unmelted. But wax remaining is not fragrance remaining. Preserved wax doesn't tell you how much fragrance is still in it, or how much the next heating cycle will release.

3 · Heat sources and controls

When the bulb is the heater

When the bulb is the heater, the appliance relies on infrared radiation, which is why an incandescent or halogen bulb is used. The bulb isn't simply a lighting choice.

But the light source and the heat source aren't always the same component. LED warmers exist and use a separate heating element.[2]

⚠️ Fits is not compatible.

If the bulb is the heat source, substituting an LED changes the thermal input even though the socket matches. If the appliance uses a separate element, the LED may only be providing light. Wattage, base, size and beam pattern are all part of the design.

Scentsy gives a useful manufacturer example: warmers specified for several bulb wattages from 10 W to 40 W, with an explicit warning against putting a 25 W bulb in a 15 W warmer[3] — which they say may void the warranty.[4]

When the element is the heater

Some bottom-electric warmers use a PTC element — positive temperature coefficient. At a fixed supply voltage, its resistance rises as it heats, reducing the power the element dissipates.[5]

PTC limits the heater's behaviour. It does not regulate the wax to a temperature. What matters to you is at the far end of the thermal path.

Both halves of that sentence now have a named test behind them. UL 1434 carries a Thermal Runaway Test at clause 19: three samples are stepped up in 10 % increments to 200 % of maximum rated voltage and held two minutes at each step, and they pass only with no breakdown, nothing thrown off, and no resulting fire or shock risk.[5] Clause 11.3 measures resistance against temperature for PTC heaters specifically, and clause 11.6 is a surface-temperature test.

⚠️ Read what that proves, and where it stops. A listed PTC element has been shown to stay self-limiting when its supply voltage is doubled — which is a real assurance, and it is about the element. The test ends at the device. Nothing in it measures the dish, the pool or the wax, so "it does not regulate the wax to a temperature" is not a hedge; it is the boundary of what was tested.

Controls are thermal design

On a bulb-heated warmer, a dimmer is a thermal control as well as a lighting one — changing the electrical input changes radiant output, which changes the pool.

A timer controls elapsed time. It doesn't measure wax temperature or reservoir condition. A thermal cutoff, a thermostat and a PTC element do three different things, and a timer is none of them.

4 · Matching the appliance to what you're heating

Jar candles and wax melts stop being the same question here. Making the melts themselves — wax, fragrance load, cure — is the wax melts guide.

If you're warming a jar candle

Plate or lamp, and the choice follows section 2. A plate must heat the whole mass, so the candle's size limits it. A lamp heats the surface, so the limits are geometric — jar height, jar diameter, and the distance from bulb to wax.

Candle Warmers Etc recommend their 17 W plate for 4–12 oz jars and direct larger candles to "a lamp or lantern".[6] One manufacturer's specification for one product, not a universal rule.

Adjustable-height lamps exist because distance matters. Top-down heating changes which dimensions matter; it doesn't remove them.

If you're warming wax melts

Different variables. Dish volume, melt mass, pool depth, exposed surface area, and the quantity the manufacturer specifies — usually in cubes rather than grams.

The same warmer holding 20 g and 80 g is running two different thermal operating conditions. The hardware hasn't changed; the thermal problem has. A wattage rating doesn't define performance independent of load.

And product names aren't specifications. "Oil burner," "wax warmer" and "aroma warmer" describe marketing categories. Some reservoirs are sold for oil, some for wax, some for both.[7][8][9] The label names the intended fill. Some reservoirs take water as part of their design or their cleaning[10] and some don't, and the instructions say which.

The dish is part of the warmer

Material, thickness, diameter, depth, thermal mass and contact with the heater all shape the path from element to wax. Thermal mass particularly affects how fast the dish warms and how long it holds heat afterward.

Fits is not compatible here either. A replacement dish isn't interchangeable because it sits in the recess.

And on a plug-in, the standard counts the dish too — which is why plug-in warmers are small. UL 499's division for direct plug-in heating appliances caps what the appliance may weigh and how much leverage it may exert on the receptacle, and clause 88.3 requires removable parts to be in place when the measurement is taken.[11]

UL 499, Table 88.1 — direct plug-in heating appliances

Total weight 28 ozf (about 1.75 lb)
Sideways tipping 48 ozf · vertical tipping 48 ozf
Twisting moment 80 ozf·in

The leverage terms scale with how far the centre of gravity sits out from the wall, so a deep dish held away from the receptacle runs into them before anything else does. That is why a plug-in melt warmer takes one cube and a tabletop dish takes four: not a preference about fragrance strength, but a limit on how much mass the appliance is allowed to have. It applies to plug-ins, not to corded tabletop warmers, which hold nothing up.

Before you buy

Start with the manufacturer's stated permitted use, not the category name on the listing.

5 · Safety, and what a certification mark means

The recall record

Six relevant recalls were identified for this guide. This is a targeted set, not a complete recall history.

Wax melt appliances:

Recall Release date Units Hazard
Waxcessories Electric Simmer Pots (08-255)[12] Apr 2008 ~830,000 wire connections could come loose — 161 reports of discoloured cords and separating wires, no injuries
Christmas Tree Shops (12-098)[13] Feb 2012 ~5,700 warming bowl positioned too close to the tealight — one report, a fire that caused a minor burn
Olympic Mountain (15-715)[14] Dec 2014 ~209,000 US + 23,000 Canada erratic or high tealight flames — 22 reports, 2 minor burns, 1 property damage
Family Dollar (16-033)[15] Nov 2015 ~32,000 high flames — 11 reports, 2 burn injuries, 3 property damage

Related, and not melt appliances:

Recall Release date Units Hazard
Lenox (08-145)[16] Dec 2007 ~43,000 tableware warmer dishes — flames up the sides, a bottom label that smoked, 8 reports, no injuries
Provo Craft Candlsense (08-289)[17] May 2008 ~730,000 heating element could detach and melt the casing — 11 reports, 2 fires, 9 scorched surfaces, 1 blistered finger

This is a catalogue of failure modes, not a ranking. Recall counts aren't exposure-adjusted failure rates — they reflect market size, years sold and how many people reported. A recall shows a particular design had a documented hazard. It says nothing about the failure rate of an architecture as a class.

What it does show:

⚠️ Removing a flame removes one failure mechanism. It does not remove the need to control heat, electricity, materials and geometry.

Christmas Tree Shops names a design parameter — the bowl sat too close to the flame. Distance is a number someone chose.

Waxcessories is particularly relevant here because CPSC describes the product explicitly as designed to melt scented wax, and names the ceramic cup, the 40 W bulb, the socket and the cord as parts of the appliance.[12]

Stop using it if

The base or housing becomes abnormally hot after it's switched off. The dish retaining heat is expected — that's thermal mass doing what it does.

The cord or plug is hot, discoloured or damaged. The housing is cracked or unstable. There's an electrical smell or crackling. The dish is chipped.

CPSC reported discoloured cords and separating wires in the Waxcessories recall.[12] They aren't cosmetic. These are practical signals, not regulatory thresholds.

What a mark tells you

UL Listed — UL evaluated representative product samples against applicable requirements.[18] UL Recognized is a component mark, not a finished-product listing.[19]

ETL Listed is another NRTL certification mark. Intertek is OSHA-recognised and certifies to applicable safety standards.[20]

CE is the manufacturer's declaration that the product conforms to applicable EU requirements.[21] Depending on the legislation, assessment may be done by the manufacturer or may require a notified body.[22] It is not an EU safety approval, and it is not a substitute for a US NRTL mark.

The useful question isn't which logo. It's what product, what standard, and what scope the mark actually covers.

UL 283, and a scope line worth understanding

UL 283 covers air fresheners and deodorizers, explicitly including those with heating elements. Its scope contains an exclusion that splits the warmer market:[23]

1.6 "These requirements do not cover direct plug-in appliances with open reservoirs for the addition of either a liquid or a substance that when heated becomes a liquid."

And the standard defines the term it turns on. Clause 4.17 makes a direct plug-in appliance one with built-in blades that plug straight into a 15 A or 20 A, 125 V receptacle, some of which carry a pass-through receptacle of their own.[23] A pass-through wall warmer is still a direct plug-in, so §1.6 still reaches it.

A direct plug-in warmer with an open reservoir holding something that liquefies falls inside that exclusion. A corded tabletop warmer isn't excluded by §1.6, because the clause says direct plug-in.

Two more scope lines matter, and one of them is new to this guide. §1.5 excludes permanently connected appliances — which marks the other edge of the standard: a hardwired unit is outside it entirely, and that is why every warmer you can buy is either corded or hangs on its own blades. And §1.7 requires that a plug-in freshener incorporating a light also comply with UL 1786, Direct Plug-In Nightlights.[23]

⚠️ §1.7 reaches a product this guide has been describing all along. A bulb-below warmer is a bulb in a base — the Waxcessories unit in the recall table is exactly that shape, and wall plug-ins from the large brands are too. So a plug-in warmer that lights up has a second standard named inside the first one. What UL 1786 requires is not stated here, because it has not been read — only that UL 283 §1.7 points at it.

An exclusion still doesn't tell you the certification path a product actually used. But the scopes now say what it would have to be. UL 499 defines a heating appliance as any electrically powered product that generates heat, directly or indirectly, to do its job (§1.3), and defers to any more specific standard where one exists (§1.2).[11]

A wax warmer is inside that definition. A sealed plug-in refill goes to UL 283, because §1.2 gives way to the more specific standard. A device UL 283 excludes has nowhere more specific to go — and UL 499 carries a whole division for them, clauses 87 to 90, Direct Plug-In Heating Appliances, which is where the weight limits in section 4 come from.

⚠️ That is what the scopes imply, not a certification record. Read the mark on the base.

For products evaluated and listed by Intertek to UL 283, its ETL follow-up procedure requires a production sample to be operated at nominal 120 V for not less than two hours with its intended fragrance substance, verifying the substance does not become liquid. A failure can mean production held or the ETL marks removed.[24]

And the standard says what it doesn't cover

UL 283's scope states that physiological effects "beneficial or otherwise" are not covered, and that the ratings do not indicate efficiency or effectiveness of the intended uses.[23]

A safety listing is not a performance rating. It doesn't establish how hot the wax gets, how fast it melts, how strong the fragrance is, how long it lasts, or the product's indoor-air emissions.

6 · Temperature is a system property

Rated wattage is an input specification, not a wax-temperature specification.

A 25 W warmer does not put 25 W into the wax. It supplies energy to a system that loses heat through the dish, the housing and the air, and settles wherever that system settles. Two 25 W warmers with different dishes won't give you the same pool.

The chain is longer than the spec sheet admits:

electrical input → heater temperature → thermal path → dish → wax pool → evaporation → airborne concentration where the person is → what they smell

And "the warmer's temperature" isn't one number. Heater, dish underside, dish surface, pool centre, pool edge, container wall, the air above — all different. A figure without its measurement location is difficult to interpret and not reproducible from the published information alone.

The standard that certifies the appliance does not measure the surface that heats your wax

This is the part worth knowing, and it is a scoping decision rather than an oversight. UL 283 does set surface-temperature limits — and clause 40.2.1 excludes from them "the heating function surface itself (such as a warming plate)", together with nearby surfaces that are obviously hot because they sit next to it.[23]

So the one surface whose temperature decides how your wax behaves is the one surface the limits leave out. That follows from what the standard is for: shock, fire and injury, not performance. And it gives the disclaimer in §1.3 a reason. "The ratings do not indicate efficiency or effectiveness" is not boilerplate — the standard does not measure the performance surface, so it is in no position to say anything about it.

What the standard does put numbers on is everything around the wax:

UL 283 surface-temperature limits, corrected to a 25 °C room
WhereLimit
Combustible material the appliance sits on (Table 40.1) 65 °C rise over ambient
Metal surfaces near the heater, known to be hot (Table 40.2) 70 °C absolute
Nonmetallic surfaces near the heater, known to be hot (Table 40.2) 95 °C absolute
The heating surface itself (§40.2.1) excluded from the limits

The first row is the first sourced temperature figure in this guide, and it is not about the wax. A 65 °C rise over a 25 °C room is about 90 °C into the furniture underneath — a limit on what a certified warmer may do to the table it stands on.[23]

⚠️ The operating temperature is measured. It just isn't published. Clause 28.1 sets the fragrance's flash point against the operating temperature at the wick or pad, so that temperature has to be established for every certified product.[23] The number exists per product, inside the certification file. What no one publishes is a comparable figure you could use to choose between two warmers.

Higher temperature generally increases vapour pressure and the rate at which volatile material enters the air.[25] But throw and useful life don't follow from temperature alone — formulation, exposed surface, airflow and the changing composition as volatiles deplete all participate.

What's published is wattage, and vendor claims. One retailer, GODONLIF, gives 130–180 °F at the candle surface under a lamp on one page[26] and 100–160 °F on another.[27]

One seller, two bands, no disclosed protocol. That's the argument, not a measurement.

We haven't found a standardised, comparable dataset across the common architectures and loads people actually use — and the reason is above rather than mysterious. The standard that certifies these appliances measures the furniture, the housing and the element, and excludes the plate. A dataset covering the common architectures and loads would have to be built by someone with a different question in mind.

7 · What this guide won't decide

There is no best warmer. There is a warmer suited to a load, a room and a budget.

Wattage doesn't predict wax temperature. It's an input to a system with losses.

Published temperature claims aren't comparable without knowing what was measured, where, and under what load.

A certification mark isn't a performance rating — the standard says so itself.

A bulb that fits isn't necessarily compatible. Neither is a dish.

To know how your warmer behaves with your load, you have to measure it.

Sources

  1. Yang, G., Yim, Y.-J., Lee, J. W., Heo, Y.-J., & Park, S.-J., Carbon-Filled Organic Phase-Change Materials for Thermal Energy Storage: A Review, Molecules 2019, 24(11), 2055. "However, paraffin has a low thermal conductivity, that is, with an average of 0.2 W/mK". ⚠️ The figure is for paraffin and names no state (solid or liquid); the review gives no conductivity for soy or other vegetable waxes. It supports "conducts heat relatively poorly", not the shape of the molten region. Read 17 September 2026. ↩
  2. Leyoue, Wax Warmer, Wax Melt Warmer with PTC Heating Plate & 7-Color LED, Amazon listing: "Advanced PTC heating technology replaces traditional bulbs"; "Equipped with a separate light mode button … without affecting the heating function." ⚠️ Retail listing, one product. Read 17 September 2026. ↩
  3. Scentsy blog, How much energy do wax warmers really use?, 29 August 2023: "Scentsy offers warmers and light bulbs in 10W, 15W, 20W, 25W and 40W"; "never use a 25-watt bulb in a 15-watt warmer, and make sure replacement bulbs are the correct wattage." ⚠️ Manufacturer source. Read 17 September 2026. ↩
  4. Scentsy blog, What Scentsy Light Bulb Fits My Wax Warmer?, 20 June 2024: "ranging from 10 to 40 watts"; "Altering your warmer in any way by using a bulb with incorrect wattage may void your product warranty." ⚠️ Manufacturer source. The warranty sentence is on this page, not on the energy page (source 3). An older Scentsy post (2020) says another type of bulb "could void" the warranty, where this one says a different brand will not; both agree on incorrect wattage. Read 17 September 2026. ↩
  5. UL Standards & Engagement, UL 1434, Thermistor-Type Devices, 18 May 2021. Scope 1.2: "These thermistors are intended for use as: a) Self-limiting devices such as heaters"; 1.3: "These requirements apply to positive temperature coefficient (PTC) and negative temperature coefficient (NTC) type devices." Clause 11.3 is an R/T measurement for PTC heaters, 11.6 a surface temperature test, and clause 19 the Thermal Runaway Test: 19.2 steps three samples up in 10 % increments to 200 % of maximum rated voltage, two minutes at each step, passing only with no breakdown, no particles thrown off and no resulting fire or shock risk. ⚠️ Read from the standard itself on 18 September 2026; the scope quotations above were previously taken from the publisher's catalogue page, and they agree. UL 283 §3, Referenced Publications, names this standard, which is how the two connect — that list also names UL 1030, Sheathed Heating Elements, for the other heating technology, which this guide does not cover. ↩
  6. Candle Warmers Etc, Original Warmer with auto shut off: "programmed to automatically shut-off after eight hours"; "Recommended to use with 4-12 oz jar candles. Warming Plate Diameter: 3.93""; "Cord is 3 ft with a dial switch. Warmer is 120V, 60Hz, 17W"; "For larger candles, we recommend using one of our top-down solutions. Try a lamp or lantern by Candle Warmers Etc." ⚠️ Manufacturer source, one product. The eight-hour shut-off is specific to this model: the company's White Original Candle Warmer lists the same 17 W, 3 ft and 4–12 oz figures with no shut-off. Read 17 September 2026. ↩
  7. Zingz & Thingz, Modern Style Ceramic Tear Drop Oil Warmer, Amazon listing: "Simply pour your favorite scented oil into the top and light a candle underneath". Sold for oil. ⚠️ Retail listing, one product. Read 17 September 2026. ↩
  8. Candle Warmers Etc, Apothecary Illumination Fragrance Warmer: "Add scented wax melts to the removable warming dish". Sold for wax. ⚠️ Manufacturer source, one product. Read 17 September 2026. ↩
  9. Lawei, Set of 3 Ceramic Tealight Candle Holder, Essential Oil Burner Wax Melt Burners, Amazon listing: "can hold a very good quantity of water and essential oil, or wax melt." Sold for both. ⚠️ Retail listing, one product. Read 17 September 2026. ↩
  10. Happy Wax, Wax Melt Troubleshooting: Solutions to Common Wax Warmer Woes, 21 March 2025: "Warm Water Method: Fill the warmer dish with warm (not boiling) water. The wax will soften and float to the surface." The same page: "Always follow the manufacturer's instructions for your specific warmer model." ⚠️ Seller of wax melts and warmers. Read 17 September 2026. ↩
  11. UL Standards & Engagement, UL 499, Electric Heating Appliances, 17 November 2025. Scope 1.2: a product covered by its own standard is evaluated to that standard rather than to UL 499; 1.3: a heating appliance is an electrically powered product that generates heat, directly or indirectly, to perform its function. Clauses 87–90 are Direct Plug-In Heating Appliances; 88.2 and Table 88.1 limit total weight to 28 ozf, sideways and vertical tipping to 48 ozf each, and twisting moment to 80 ozf·in, with the leverage terms scaling with the distance from the receptacle to the centre of gravity; 88.3 requires removable parts to be in place for the measurement. ⚠️ Read from the standard itself, 18 September 2026. Cited for the scope relationship and the plug-in limits only: it is not evidence that any particular warmer was listed to UL 499, which is a fact about that product's certification and not about the scopes. ↩
  12. US Consumer Product Safety Commission, Waxcessories® Recalls Electric Simmer Pots Due to Risk of Fire and Shock, recall 08-255, 24 April 2008. Units: "About 830,000". Hazard: "The simmer pots have wire connections that can become loose". Incidents: "There have been 161 reports of discolored cords, loose wires, and wires separating from the pot. No injuries have been reported." Description: "designed to melt scented wax in a ceramic cup. The cup sits on a ceramic base that contains a 40-watt bulb, socket and electric cord." Figures also match CPSC's recall API. Read 17 September 2026. ↩
  13. US Consumer Product Safety Commission, Holiday Tea Light Candle Warmers Recalled by Christmas Tree Shops Due to Fire and Burn Hazards, recall 12-098, 1 February 2012. Units: "About 5,700". Hazard: "the warming bowl is positioned too close to the tea light candle". Incidents: "one report of the Snowmen candle warmer catching on fire causing a minor burn injury to a consumer's hand." Description: "A warming bowl with wax fragrance tablets is suspended above the tea light candle." Also listed in CPSC's 2012 Annual Report to the President and Congress, page 37 of the PDF. Read 17 September 2026. ↩
  14. US Consumer Product Safety Commission, Olympic Mountain Products Recalls Tealight Wax Warmers, recall 15-715, 30 December 2014. Incidents: "22 reports of tealights with erratic or high flames, including two minor burn injuries to consumers and one incident resulting in minor property damage." ⚠️ Unit count: open, because the two regulators disagree. CPSC's page gives "Units: About 209,000 sets in the United States and 23,000 sets in Canada" (the rendered page and CPSC's recall API agree). Health Canada's notice for the same recall, posted the same day (30 December 2014; Olympic Mountain's Essenza warmers, sold at Costco), gives "Approximately 23,295 units were sold at Costco warehouses across Canada and approximately 29,553 units were sold at Costco warehouses in the United States." The Canadian figures roughly agree; the US figures are an order of magnitude apart, and neither notice explains the difference. The table shows CPSC's figures. Read 17 September 2026. ↩
  15. US Consumer Product Safety Commission, Family Dollar Recalls Wax Warmers, recall 16-033, 12 November 2015. Units: "About 32,000". Incidents: "11 reports of the warmers producing high flames, including two reports of burn injuries and three reports of property damage." Read 17 September 2026. ↩
  16. US Consumer Product Safety Commission, Lenox Recalls Covered Warmer Dishes Due to Fire and Burn Hazards, recall 08-145, 21 December 2007. Units: "About 43,000". Hazard: "Flames from the tea candle can extend up the sides of the dish. In addition, a label on the bottom of the dish causes excessive smoke when exposed to the flame." Incidents: "eight reports … No injuries have been reported." Read 17 September 2026. ↩
  17. US Consumer Product Safety Commission, Electric Candle Warmers Recalled by Provo Craft & Novelty Due to Fire Hazard, recall 08-289. Units: "About 730,000". Incidents: "11 reports of incidents in which the heating elements detached, including two fires and nine incidents of property scorching. One consumer reported a blistered finger." ⚠️ Date: open. The page's "Recall Date" field reads June 18, 2012, while the release text on the same page reads "FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE May 29, 2008 … Release #08-289", and CPSC's recall API gives 29 May 2008. The table uses the release date. Why the field differs is not stated. Read 17 September 2026. ↩
  18. UL Solutions, Marks and Label Hub, North America: a Listed Mark "means UL Solutions found that representative product samples met UL's requirements", and these marks "appear on end products and complete components suitable for factory and field installation." Read 17 September 2026. ↩
  19. UL Solutions, The UL Component Recognition Classification: "The UL Recognized Component Mark is distinct from the UL Listed Mark"; "it is not a certification for a complete, standalone product." Read 17 September 2026. ↩
  20. Intertek, ETL Listed Mark: "The ETL Listed Mark is proof that a product has been independently tested and certified by Intertek, a Nationally Recognized Testing Laboratory (NRTL), to applicable safety standards"; "Intertek is an OSHA (Occupational Safety & Health Administration) recognized NRTL". ⚠️ Certifier's own page. OSHA's NRTL scope page for Intertek (ITS) lists "UL 283 Air Fresheners and Deodorizers". Read 17 September 2026. ↩
  21. European Commission, CE marking: "By affixing the CE marking to a product, a manufacturer declares that the product meets all the legal requirements for CE marking"; "a CE marking does not indicate that a product have been approved as safe by the EU or by another authority." ("have" as published.) Read 17 September 2026. ↩
  22. Your Europe (EU), CE marking – obtaining the certificate, EU requirements, last checked by the publisher 17 July 2026: "If the law allows self-assessment, you can evaluate your product without involving a conformity assessment body"; "If the law requires third-party testing, you must involve a notified body." Read 17 September 2026. ↩
  23. UL Standards & Engagement, UL 283, Air Fresheners and Deodorizers, Fourth Edition. Scope 1.2: "Air fresheners and deodorizers employing heating elements, electronic circuits, motor-operated fans (or a combination thereof), and mechanical filters are also covered by these requirements." 1.3: "The physiological effects of the operation of these appliances, beneficial or otherwise, are not covered by this Standard", and the assigned ratings do not "indicate the efficiency or effectiveness of the intended uses of these appliances." 1.6 as quoted in the text; 1.7 requires that an appliance incorporating a light also comply with UL 1786, Direct Plug-In Nightlights — ⚠️ UL 1786 itself has not been read and nothing here describes its contents. 4.17 defines a direct plug-in appliance as one with integral blades for insertion into a 15 A or 20 A, 125 V receptacle, some incorporating a pass-through receptacle. 40.2.1 excludes from the surface-temperature limits "the heating function surface itself (such as a warming plate)" and adjacent surfaces that are obviously hot by association. Table 40.1 permits a 65 °C rise on combustible material the appliance is supported on; Table 40.2 permits 70 °C on metal and 95 °C on nonmetallic surfaces near the heater that are known to be hot, both corrected to a 25 °C ambient. 28.1 sets the fragrance flash point at least 30 °C above the operating temperature at the wick or pad, which is why that operating temperature is established per product. ⚠️ Clauses 1.5, 1.7, 3, 4.17, 28.1, 40.2.1 and Tables 40.1–40.2 were read from ANSI/UL 283-2025, Fourth Edition, 20 March 2025, on 18 September 2026. The §§1.2–1.6 quotations above were read from the publisher's catalogue page on 17 September 2026 and re-read against the standard here; they agree. ⚠️ 1.5 excludes permanently connected appliances. ↩
  24. Intertek, SUN - UL 283, Air Fresheners and Deodorizers, "Effective July 31, 2015": open-reservoir products "shall not become liquid when heated in the normal operation of the product"; the production sample "is to be then operated at nominal 120 volts AC power … but not less than 2 hours", "with the intended and provided fragrance substance"; on failure "Production of that unit is to be held (or ETL Certification Marks removed)." Read 17 September 2026. ↩
  25. Flowers, P., Theopold, K., Langley, R., & Robinson, W. R., Chemistry 2e, section 10.3, Phase Transitions, OpenStax: "As temperature increases, the vapor pressure of a liquid also increases"; "The escape of more molecules per unit of time and the greater average speed of the molecules that escape both contribute to the higher vapor pressure." ⚠️ Textbook source describing a liquid in a closed container; it does not state an evaporation rate into open air. Read 17 September 2026. ↩
  26. GODONLIF, Are Candle Warmers Safe for Kids & Pets? Yes, With Caveats, godonlifstore.com: a candle warmer lamp "warms the top layer of wax to roughly 130–180°F". ⚠️ Retailer blog article, no test protocol disclosed. A second article on the same site credits the band to another company ("Strabella Home's breakdown of similar lamps confirms the same band"): a retailer citing another retailer's number, with no protocol at either end. Read 17 September 2026. ↩
  27. GODONLIF, How Hot Does a Candle Warmer Get?, godonlifstore.com, first published 17 July 2026: "Most lamps hold the wax surface around 100 to 160°F (38 to 71°C)". ⚠️ Retailer blog article compiled from other companies' figures ("REIDEA reports 120 to 160°F for its lamps"), none with a disclosed test protocol, so the number is repeated rather than measured; the page's modified date was 17 September 2026 when read. Read 17 September 2026. ↩

Written by Bryan Schmidt. Senior Reactor Operator at civilian nuclear plants, former US Navy submarine nuclear electrician’s mate (Chief Petty Officer), BS Computer Engineering. Not an appliance engineer — the training is in heat transfer, and this guide is the research he did for himself after finding that every warmer is sold on its wattage and nobody publishes the temperature the wax actually reaches. Where a manufacturer’s instructions differ from anything here, follow theirs. About the author → · How we source and verify →

Overview Making guides
← Back to Making Guides